Sti-Yu-Ka Scorcher

Unless you’re living under a special, air-conditioned rock someplace, you’ve realized it’s hottttttt out!!

I almost deleted my Weather.com app when I checked it yesterday, and it predicted today’s high of 91 degrees in Springfield. With a dorm room whose heater still feels like it’s breathing hot air onto my sticky neck, I wasn’t amused to find out my app wasn’t lying. Even now at almost 7PM, it’s still in the 80s.20120416-193859.jpg

There is a lot going on here at Springfield College this week. Most prevalent, it’s our spring week, somewhat famously called Sti-Yu-Ka (which I learned, somewhat late in the game (yesterday), means “coming of age” from a Native American translation). A classmate of mine has a great article about the week from the SC Student Newspaper posted here! Apparently, this year marks the 50th anniversary of the annual event! Every year during this week, there are tons of events like the kick-off concert, charity events, the “Taste”, and a bunch of games and outdoor activities. Right now, my room’s window is suffocating me in grill smoke and the melodies of country music from my building’s “Country Fest”. I obviously love the grill and country music. I’m just a bit bitter, because I was only outside for a little until papers called me back in, and then WordPress beckoned me for a break…

Sti-Yu-Ka is known mostly as a week excessive amounts of student drinking, and if you’re a nerd, also for the excessive homework assigned attempting to counter-act the drinking. Welcome to my life of being torn between two worlds: tempting “Country Fest” is outside, and my books and notes are scattered around my floor, bed, and desk. Another big part of Sti-Yu-Ka, again for the nerds, is Scholars in Action Day. Tomorrow, all day in the union, students will be presenting papers and posters, various performances, and other readings. To my great luck, I get to be in the air-conditioned building from 8:45-2:45. For my English Seminar course taught by my advisor, Professor Eaton, all of my classmates and I will be presenting papers on distinguished author Toni Morrison (we have plenty of material having read five of her novels at this point in the semester with one left to go). Translation, approximately 3 hours of riveting auditory entertainment! Later in the day with some others, I’m reading my poem published in our campus’ literary magazine The Alden Street Review. I’m also on the Editorial Board, and will be stepping up as Editor in Chief (that would look great on a shiny badge, huh? kidding, obviously) after my good friend Kara graduates this year. There’s rumored to be free t-shirts (classic of SC) and raffles for participants, yay!

I’ll update on how SIA Day goes– knowing myself, I’ll probably do something great followed by something embarrassing, so stay tuned! :-)

Leave a Reply

