I Feel Like I’m Missing Everything!

Greetings! =) Since being re-immersed in American culture advertisements, as much as I take pains to avoid being bombarded, I’ve re-realized the incredible rate at which media content is produced. I mainly notice books and articles, but this applies to anything really: toys, fashion, games, technology, music, movies, art, architecture, humor, etc.

In an easy to read and entertaining NPR article I first read last spring semester by Linda Holmes titled “The Sad, Beautiful Fact That We’re All Going To Miss Almost Everything“, she discusses the fact that many people, myself undoubtedly included, attempt to read anything and everything they can in trying to “catch up”. Her focus is that people should have a broad spectrum of content experiences, to find what they enjoy most. Then, one can choose which to like, learn, and explore further. Holmes’ explains a little here:

“Culling is the choosing you do for yourself. It’s the sorting of what’s worth your time and what’s not worth your time. It’s saying, “I deem Keeping Up With The Kardashians a poor use of my time, and therefore, I choose not to watch it.” and later in the article: “If “well-read” means “not missing anything,” then nobody has a chance. If “well-read” means “making a genuine effort to explore thoughtfully,” then yes, we can all be well-read. But what we’ve seen is always going to be a very small cup dipped out of a very big ocean, and turning your back on the ocean to stare into the cup can’t change that…”

While I’m surely missing out on some education or entertainment featured on the TV shows that I neglect to watch, the books I choose not to read, museums I don’t make time to visit, etc. according to this NPR article, I “cull” my content making things more important to me than others. I’m able to rank my to-do list, and make it shorter by excluding what I don’t find as interesting. Admittedly, my to-read list is probably half a notebook long, and often when new books are released, I’m more inclined to pick up recent works. Here’s a picture of my current (physical) reading list (with my Nook on top housing my endless mobile media library):

It’s true that I have read more than the average student my age, and that’s probably an understatement, but I know that I’m never going to be able to read everything. So for the past few months, outside of required school reading, I’ve chosen books I can really be excited about, rather than feel an obligation to them. While in Ireland I read The Help; The Picture of Dorian Gray (by my beloved Irish Oscar Wilde); a few borrowed book-versions of “chick flicks”; some Irish authors including The Likeness by Tana French and Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor; and of course some of the more classic Irish authors Sean O’Casey, W. B. Yeats, Lady Augusta, J.M. Synge, George Moore, James Joyce, etc. Back at Springfield, I’m actively reading some Whitman, Dickinson, Twain, armfuls of poetry, loads of Shakespeare, and tons of Toni Morrison. I’ve finally made the time to pick up on the easy to read and page-turning Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins which so far is absolutely fantastic! In a J.K. Rowling fashion, Collins creates a semi-futuristic world in which her characters live and literally fight to survive. I’m eagerly anticipating the first movie’s release after recently seeing the exciting trailer, due out March 23!… Though my list is forever long, I am, of course, still taking to-read suggestions =)

2 thoughts on “I Feel Like I’m Missing Everything!

Leave a Reply

